Blue Ridge at Henry Coe State Park

The trails enclosed in the west side of Henry Coe State Park trace the waves of mountain ridges, making for hilly trekking and steep inclines. I backpacked into the park on Saturday and left Monday morning.

Blue Ridge
This weekend, I was able to make it to Mount Sizer on the Blue Ridge Mountain Trail. Man, this trek is practically vertical, making both downhill and uphill an equally challenging 3.6 miles from where I made camp. But the view is amazing once you start trekking along the mountain ridge, with waves of mountains visible at about 3200ft elevation. And there is a stark contrast between the pale baby blue ridges to the southwest and the green arboreal hills towards the northeast. On the way back is a fantasy creek with crossing “lilypads” made of dirt and grass.

Natural Timemarks
As I’ve been spending more time outside,  I’ve started to get more in tune with my circadian rhythm and started to notice more natural time marks instead of being tied to clock-time. At the coldest point of the night, I’ll wake up (usually with the intention of getting more clothes on) to realize that it’s just before dawn, the perfect time to wake up. I’ve also noticed that I want to get back to camp before late afternoon, since that’s when bugs get at it the most.

Personal Stats and Supplies
Considering how hilly the treks here are, I budget about a mile an hour hiking time, with plenty of breaks. The first day I hiked about 3 miles to my campsite and was already exhausted considering the weight of my pack. Next day I did about 9 miles (6.3 hours) round trip up to the Blue Ridge and back.

Two gallons of water lasted me two nights, but I gotta figure out a water filtration system so I don’t have to carry so much. Bring at least half a TP roll per night and a sunhat. And always bring more food than I think I need.

image

image

Leave a Reply

